Brownies Connect and Take Action

All right, so I didn’t get around to blogging our second meeting for the Brownie Quest. Sorry about that, but here’s what we did on our second and third:

For the connect key, we used the activity from the leader’s guide. I know! Right? I used the leader guide! They are actually extremely useful in acquainting you with the journeys and giving you ideas whether you follow them or not, making them worth it, really, (though I do recommend passing them on to other troops in your service unit or community…)

Anyway, we talked about who we’re connected to and how, and then the girls made circle maps of the connection. I used a Martha Stewart circle cutter, scrapbook paper, and a hole punch to get everything ready for them so all they had to do was write their connections and tie them all together with their choice of ribbon from my stash.

my model project

my model project

my daughter's circle map

my daughter’s circle map

my daughter's map spread out so you can see it. she chose to illustrated each group.

my daughter’s map spread out so you can see it. she chose to illustrated each group.

I let them define each of their circles themselves (with the help of their junior partners who were still helping us out), and one girl had “animals” as her yellow circle. That girl’s gonna make a great veterinarian some day.

For our final meeting on the journey, I had hoped to take the girls to our local mission, but they were only available for educational visits during weekdays, and we aren’t out of school yet, so that wasn’t going to work as I didn’t have time to speak to the man in charge and arrange special treatment. I know, that’s what I get for waiting so long to set things up.

Anyway, I decided that what my girls needed from this journey was to really understand what a take action project is. Most of them weren’t really sure during our WoW journey. They enjoyed the activity, but I think the bigger meaning was kind of lost on them. So, dirty little secret, shhhhhh, but I made a leader’s call for my troop: since the Brownie Quest journey is all about learning what being a girl scout is about (discover, connect, take action), learning what taking action means satisfies the purpose well enough.

I found a great site about teaching girls advocacy.

UntitledI requested the advocacy cards they offer, but again, due to my tardiness, they did not arrive on time.

Anyway, we talked about the differences between the very important things we can do to meet immediate needs, service projects, and the ways that we can research and address the problems that create those needs. We talked about how even little girls can make a big difference, something none of my girls had any trouble believing. They’d already learned that much, yay!

To help them understand the concept of advocacy, one of the easiest ways to make a big difference and address deeper problems, I once again took advantage of my junior aids. Now, this was the fourth week they were with us. Only one of them needed to make up for a missed meeting, but they all showed up anyway. Pretty awesome girls, really. What I did was pass out cookies, two to each of my Brownies, but none to the juniors. Most of my brownies didn’t like this, one didn’t really care. Two of them were about to share their own. We talked about why it wasn’t fair, and what they could do about it. It took a little guidance, but eventually I got them past sharing their own to attempting to change the rules by talking to the rule maker (me.) With a little more guidance, my two most vocal got their two supporters to speak up and convinced one of the two quiet ones to speak up as well. The one that didn’t really care from the beginning declined to say anything, which I personally think was a nice illustration of the outside world. We then gave the juniors cookies.

It was a mostly talk/discussion oriented meeting, but the cookie advocacy activity broke things up nicely and kept them interested. I think it went well and satisfied the spirit of the journey. Next week we have our awards ceremony and end of year party.

Comments, Questions, Suggestions?

