Easter Egg Dyeing the 4th

So, it worked out well that I hadn’t counted on the extra weekend in March, because I just did not have the energy to dye eggs last week, but we still had one last weekend to use our fourth method. This time around, we used shaving cream and food dye, as seen numerous places including this particular blog, chosen simply because she had the prettiest picture to pin…

Anyway, my daughter had done something very similar a couple years ago, except that time we had used cool whip instead of shaving cream because she was dyeing hard boiled eggs we intended to eat. She really enjoyed that experiment and was looking forward to using the method again.

Suggestions: use a LOT of dye! the thicker the dye, the brighter the colors will be on the eggs. Also, I highly recommend using the neon dye as it also much brighter.

I didn’t have a perfect container this time, so I selected one that may be a bit too small and one that was definitely too big, gathered the dye, the blown eggs, shaving cream, tooth picks and bamboo skewers to swirl the cream and move the eggs around, tongs to pull the eggs out, and cupcake liners to let the eggs dry in.

Once our cat had inspected the materials, it was time to begin.

I went first to test out the little container and so that she would understand all the materials and options.

032 033After filling the tub, I decided it needed to be spread around just a little bit to ensure a better covering of the egg. I didn’t want any air pockets between my eggs and the cream keeping the dye off the shell.

I added my dye…

035

My daughter decided I needed a model.

…and swirled it.

036

A particularly silly model, apparently…

It was a lot harder to roll my egg around than I expected, smearing and stirring my artfully swirled dye. I wasn’t so sure about how it all ended up on the egg.

 

038

The left-over dye in the tub was so pretty, though, and still seemed so thick, that I was curious what would happen if I just used that swirl for my second egg.

040

So, in went the egg.

042

But, remembering that I didn’t like the process of rolling, I used a spoon to scoop and plop the shaving cream around the egg.

044 046

This time, I liked the colors swirled through the white so much that I dropped the dye further apart and brought it in so there’d be some white. I used the same method with the spoon to cover the egg.

048

This is what my eggs looked like set aside to dry.

050054She opted for the big tub and had fun squirting the shaving cream all around it. She also chose to use traditional colors since I had only used neon.

She chose not to swirl the colors, but to just put the egg in and see how that turned out.

She chose not to swirl the colors, but to just put the egg in and see how that turned out.

She also found rolling it to be difficult, and not wanting to use her fingers, she opted for spreading the cream with the skewer like a paint brush.

She also found rolling it to be difficult, and not wanting to use her fingers, she decided to spread the cream with the skewer like a paint brush.

She then decided to use my left over neon cream for her second egg, not even adding extra dye.

She then decided to use my left over neon cream for her second egg, not even adding extra dye.

For her third, she also used the neon colors, but she returned to the big tub and really swirled, almost stirred, the dye.

For her third, she also used the neon colors, but she returned to the big tub and really swirled, almost stirred, the dye.

066

Our eggs when we were done:

On the left: my first, third, and second. Don’t ask me why they got rearranged.

On the right: her second, third, and first. Again, the order got weird…

 

 

067

 

Our eggs the next morning:

I slid a poster underneath them because I figured the dye would seep through the thin paper of the cupcake liners. I’m really glad I did, because it almost seeped through the poster as well.

My daughter thought they were pretty ugly at this point.

 

 

 

076

 

My second, third, and first. I like the second one the best. The blue and green didn’t hold as fast as the pink, and the  purple kinda fades into the pink.

 

 

077

 

Her first, third, and second. She doesn’t want to keep the first because it’s ugly, her words. I agree that the red/yellow (seen a little up at the top) doesn’t look that nice, kinda like rust, honestly, but the blue and green might work out okay if you use a LOT of dye, swirl it, and let it set a full 24 hours instead of just over night. Both of the others are primarily pink, but she’s perfectly fine with that. It is the magical color after all. You can see the importance of using plenty of dye here, though, in the difference between my left over dye and her fresh application.

075

Comments, Questions, Suggestions?

