Easter Egg Dyeing the 3rd

So this week we used finger nail polish. It was a learning experience, but a method I’ll probably return to eventually. Another popular Pinterest method, I followed this particular blog.

I picked out some new Spring-ish colors at the dollar tree special for this activity, but I allowed my daughter to use what she wanted from our existing stash as well. (I never manage to use up a whole bottle before I end up throwing out half-dried useless goo anyway, or even fully dried really useless crust, so I wasn’t worried about saying goodbye to any of those probably-already-too-old colors anyway.)

There are plenty of tutorials out there, so I’ll just share our experience and what we learned along the way.

We gathered our supplies

2015-3-15 easter egg dyeing week 3 - finger nail polish (2)

and began. Once again, we used blown eggs, so bamboo skewers poked through the holes made a handy way to dip the eggs and limit the amount of nail polish we got on our hands. Notice I stress the word limit. There was still quite a bit on my fingers when we were done, but that was mostly from scooting the eggs off the skewers so they could dry. In retrospect, it might have been a better idea to find something I could just stand the skewers up in. Of course, had I done that I’d probably be sharing the difficulties of having nail polish drying the eggs to the skewers, so maybe this was better after all.

Anyway, nail polish fingers don’t make for good camera hands, so I didn’t get a string of pictures documenting the entire experience. But the basic process is this:

2015-3-15 easter egg dyeing week 3 - finger nail polish (5)

drip the colors onto the water

2015-3-15 easter egg dyeing week 3 - finger nail polish (6)

swirl it with a tooth pick

Lesson 1: There is no glitter polish that works. It all comes out goopy and blobby on the eggs. The really find glitter, the large glitter, the glittery color: it all had the same blobby results.

Lesson 2: You only want to dip the egg once, slowly. If the polish doesn’t want to stick to the egg in one place, repeated dipping won’t help, it’ll only muddy what did stick the first time. My first egg had a large white spot, so I tried rolling the egg around until it was covered. All I did was end up with a teal that looked like a darker green because it was layered over other polish rather than white egg, and I still had a mostly bare spot.

My theory is that the top of the egg as you dunk it the first time gets wet in the wake of being dunked, so as you come back up, the polish just slides off that bit. Maybe I should have experimented with rolling an egg across the surface rather than dunking it…hm, food for thought.

dense purple polish wanted to bead and sink.

dense purple polish wanted to bead and sink. “slow and draw…”

2015-3-15 easter egg dyeing week 3 - finger nail polish (4)

thinner pink polish had no trouble floating on top

Lesson 3: Some nail polish is denser than other and will tend to sink if poured/dropped too quickly. My impulsive, fast-moving daughter’s mantra became “slow and draw…” pour slowly and draw it across the waters surface. It floats better if it’s spread out.

Lesson 4: Don’t take too long swirling your polish together or it will start to dry on the water and will be goopy on the egg.

Lesson 4: Goopy eggs can be saved, and most disappointing eggs will dry prettier than you thought they would. (Either that, or your disappointment fades and you can appreciate what you ended up with.)

2015-3-15 easter egg dyeing week 3 - finger nail polish (7)Left to right:

My first egg: pink polish with pink/purple glitter. It was goopy, and I used a toothpick to spread out the blobs. I was rather disappointed at first, but now that it’s dry I kinda like it, (except for the green spot you can kinda see on the bottom where it touched my still wet second egg).

My second egg: teal and lime polish. You can see the difference between the teal on the second and the steal on the third eggs. That’s because it was double dipped so there’s a layered marble look that I wasn’t fond of at first, mostly because of the altered color, but now that I’m over the color I kinda like the layered look.

My third egg: my favorite of mine. Teal, lime, and pink polish. (This was the egg dipped into the pictures above).

My daughter’s first egg: pink polish with a large-piece glitter polish. You can’t see the glitter in the picture, but the darker bits are where the pink is concentrated around glitter or in the clear base for the glitter. I’m not a huge fan, but my daughter is either easier to please or less discerning than I am, either way she is happy which means I’ll never say a word against it.

My daughter’s third egg: red and pink polish. This is the egg that she took a long time swirling, also, she used red from our stash, so it was probably a bit thick to begin with. It’s stripey because it came out really goopy, and she was ready to right it off as a loss, but I used a toothpick to sorta scrape the excess polish off. I was trying to smooth and swirl as I went, but I noticed the stripes and thought it worked, so I just went with it. By the time I was done, she “actually really like[d] it.”

My daughter’s second egg: my husband’s favorite, my second favorite (and favorite of hers). Pink and lime polish. The lime was the thinnest of the polishes we used and spread out across the water quite a bit, while the pink was a little denser and, once swirled, let the lime show through in a very pretty way.

Again, in my cave of a home, the flash showed up truer colors than the available light. *sigh* Oh well.

*PS the “drying rack” is an idea I got from a post lost to annals of Pinterest. It’s just t-pins stuck up through Styrofoam, but be sure your tripod for each egg is spaced far enough apart or the eggs will want to roll off at the slightest provocation. Trust me on that one…

Comments, Questions, Suggestions?

