The End of Year Awards Ceremony

Well, I completed most of my objectives. My kindergarten Daisies completed two journeys, and my daughter, my only first grader, completed the third. My kindergarten Daisies earned their first financial literacy leaf: money counts, and my completed the other. She also earned her first aid pin and one my promise, my faith pin. Everyone earned all their petals as well as the global action badge. We didn’t form in time for World Thinking Day or cookie sales. Not bad for a troop that formed in February, if I do say so. The only thing I didn’t get done my daughter’s second my promise, my faith pin. (I know, one promise-faith pin/financial leaf a  year, but she was a Daisy last year, they just didn’t have a troop for her and didn’t want to multi-level a troop for one kid, I guess, so I figured it wouldn’t hurt anything for her to fit them in.)

It was such a nice day, even in a Texan August, that we decided to have the ceremony outside. We started the awards ceremony with the presentation my daughter needed to do in order to complete the promise-faith pin.

My Promise, My Faith

My Promise, My Faith

She had chosen “Make the World a Better Place” as the line of the law to explore, and she decided that the fruit of the spirit from Galatians 5:22-23 teach us how our faith makes us people who want to make the world a better place, and, at the very least, better people make a better world. She talked to her children’s pastor about it, and I found as many quotes from women on the subject as I could, so she could pick out the ones she liked. She chose:

“You have two hands: one for helping yourself and one for helping others.” -Audrey Hepburn

“Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world; it is all that ever has.” – Margaret Mead

and

“Do not wait for leaders. Do it yourself; person to person.” -Mother Teresa

She made a poster for each quote, the Bible verses, and fifth one for the who concept. (I used stencils for the letters for her except for the fifth one, and she colored/decorated them.)

After her presentation, I gave her the awards she had earned independently, and kind of told the other girls about them since they will probably be earning them this year.

IMG_5483

After that, our leader presented all the girls with the badges they had earned together.

IMG_5495

Then it was time for my baby to bridge. She had attended a recruitment rally in the spring that followed a presentation the community had made at our local public preschool, and then she accepted an invitation from a bridging troop of third grade Brownies in May. Our community has a neat little bridge we were able to use.

IMG_5468

It was a simple ceremony, like most of what we’ve done, but she loved it.

Bridging to Brownies

Bridging to Brownies

Now we’re in hiatus until our start of year community meeting and rally. Hopefully I’ll get some sweet, dedicated second graders to join my little girl in Brownies. If not, multi-troop meetings it is. There’s another tiny Brownie troop, three third graders, that would join my second grader and two first graders if none of us get any more, or if we each only get one or two. Wouldn’t be terrible, since we plan and doing a significant amount of activities together anyway. We just have to wait and see.

Comments, Questions, Suggestions?

